God’s Promises + Plans + Provision + Power = Peace

I have to admit that mathematics in most any form was not my strength in school. To me all the formulas, geometric representations, derivatives, and moments made me crazy. It would be fair to say that no matter what the class; mathematics was like a foreign language to me.  In fact my junior year in college I was required to take statistics and much to my surprise the instructor didn’t speak English, only Portuguese!  It didn’t seem to matter a great deal to me since I got a C in the class anyway, which was what I always received in a math class. However, the basic biblical formula used in the above title is straight forward enough that even I can understand it.

After all is said and done, what most of us want more than anything is peace, both for ourselves and those for whom we care for the most.  Nothing is more frustrating than watching a loved one whose life seems to be in utter chaos and suffering as a result. Granted, sometimes it’s self inflicted, but that doesn’t make it any easier to watch or lessen the heartbreak for them or you.  So what can you do…what can you say to help them in their time of need?  That’s not always an easy question to answer, but one thing you can pass along that will help, no matter if it is a physical, emotional or a spiritual crisis.  Give them hope, the kind of hope that only comes from God by faith.

The writer of Hebrews tells us that “faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see (11:1).” Although hope comes in many forms, unfortunately many of them are false and as a result lead only to further suffering and greater despair. But the hope that comes through faith is different because it is not a future hope but a present reality. How so?  Because when we accepted Christ we accepted and received His promise that we will never again be alone.  That promise is to us because Christ rose from the grave, went to be with His Father in heaven and sent His Holy Spirit to dwell in us and provide the peace we so desperately need.  Jesus promised, “Peace I leave you with you; my peace I give you.  I do not give to you as the world gives.  Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid (John 14:27)”

I invite you to join me in exploring God’s formula for achieving real peace so you can pass it along to others, just as our Lord Jesus did to all who came before Him.

Tool #293  “But as for me, it is good to be near God.”  Psalm 73:28

Leave a Reply

