What a Privilege

Just as the men of Judah obeyed the will of God by rebuilding the city of Jerusalem, as recorded for us in the books of Ezra and Nehemiah, I had the privilege of helping someone rebuild their life in Christ this morning.  Unlike the second temple, in this case the new construction is much more glorious than what previously existed and the walls will be strong and the center of worship perfect in every way.  This morning a man I have known, through my wife, for a number of years accepted Christ as his Savior in a coffee shop in Milwaukee and as we prayed I was probably more excited than he, because I know what is in store for him.  He will enjoy a peace and joy like no other he has ever known and I have the privilege of accompanying him as he discovers what God has in store for his life.

When I got home I told my wife about it and we both welled up at the thought of how powerful God is and that He is willing and anxious to share His power with anyone who will call on the name of Christ for their salvation.  How unlike the world we live in where power is everything and is seen as the vehicle to gain wealth and influence and as such, hoarded and protected at the expense of anyone and everything.  Yet in God’s economy, the Spirit of God is shared freely among all and is given to us, without first being earned or any required sacrifice on our part.  Oh, there was a sacrifice, but it was made by God and fulfilled by his Son’s crucifixion, so that we might enjoy the peace and joy that only comes through Him.

Have you ever shared the Gospel of Christ with someone?  As I told my friend this morning when he thanked me, “Hey, I’m just doing my job.”  He replied, “I suppose it it’s my job now, too.”  There is no greater gift you can give another human being than to share the “Good News” of Christ with them.  It’s the only thing I can think of that is infinitely precious, yet when I give it away, I am richer for having done so.  There have been thousands of books written on the subject of how to tell others the good news and I don’t have a problem with any of them. But I prefer what my pastor once told me, “Just tell them about Jesus.”  There is no wrong way or better way, only one way and that’s telling others about what Jesus did for you.  That’s all you need to know and say.

Tool #290  Jesus’ final instruction to the eleven disciples as recorded for us in Mark 16:15 was, “Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation.”  That is our instruction as well.

Leave a Reply

